The task at hand was to integrate the National Educational Technology Standards and Performance Indicators into elementary physical education. When setting a goal to strengthen my confidence and proficiency in at least two indicators in the NETS-T I chose 3b and 3c. NETS-T 3b: collaborating with students, peer, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation. NETS-T 3c: communicating relevant information and idea effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats.

GAME Plan:

Set Goals: My goal is to create and maintain a website that will effectively aid me in communicating information and ideas about physical education, health, and fitness to students, parents, and other interested readers. For this goal to be achieved, my website needs to be consistent and have appropriate information, without being too cluttered from text or images (Cennamo, Ross, & Ertmer, 2009. p.64).

Take Action: The actions I will take to achieve my goals is to have class announcements, calendar of events, classroom project and assignment rubrics, physical education and health links, and a link to my classroom blog.

Monitor: I will monitor my website progress by keeping a journal of the feedback and blog postings from students, parents, and other readers. “Students and parents may need guidance on what and how to post” (Cennamo, et al., 2009. p.74). I will need to make sure I teach the students how to use the website and blog appropriately. I will also need to make sure that I send home information on the website and its use to the parents, and possibly offer a training session if needed. I will also need to make sure that I have the website set up so I have approve or possibly reject any postings before they can be seen by others.

Evaluate and Extend: I will evaluate and extend my learning by journaling. I will use my journal to track the progress of learning. I will also provide questionnaires to the students, parents, and other readers through the website. I will use the questionnaires to provide feedback and help me improve the website. “It’s amazing how much a learning environment can change when technology is added to the mix” (Cennamo, et al., 2009. p.51). With the use of my GAME Plan I will be able to better knowledge of physical education, health, and fitness to those around the community.

References

Cennamo, K., Ross, J. & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom use: A standards-based approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

International Society for Technology in Education. (2008). National education standards for teachers (NETS-T). Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/standards/nets-for-teachers